Getting Acquianted: Moringa Oleifera

I received these seeds back in September 2015, as a present from a really good friend. Little did I know then how these little seeds would impact my life.

Moringa Pod
Moringa Pod
Moringa seeds
Sowing Moringa Seeds

Moringa

Moringa is a energetic supplement which can be harvested year round. It’s nutritional value is incomparable. It contains a high vitamin content specially vitamin A and E, it has the 9 essential aminoacids (histidine, isoleucine, leucine, lysine, methionine, phenylalanine, threonine, tryptophan, and valine), antioxidants, selenium, and leafy green protein (as found in beans).

Moringa

 

Moringa trees

Don’t forget I live in an apartment in the midst of Panama City, a tad of research was necessary on how to grow them specially if it’s in a container.  Some sites suggest to cut the main tap root, which is supposed to stimulate vigorous lateral and shallow root growth. How I sowed them, I decided to leave the roots as is. The idea behind it is that I intend on maintaining my moringa small  (the tallest it’s been in the apartment is 6 ft. more or less). Once it gets to this height we harvest them. So far we harvested the trees 3 times.

 

March 2016 Moringa Harvest
Moringa Harvest – March

Keep in mind the taste and scent of the leaves take a little getting used to. How I first introduced it to the boys was through fruit smoothies. After they got used to it, I began to adding it in our salads.

Moringa drying leaves
Moringa

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. blondieaka says:

    Wow…I love it when seeds surprise me…Like my Luffa….What’s it like in Panama? We looked at moving there..stil haven’t totally ruled it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You read my mind, last night I was thinking about how I´m writing about Panama and haven’t shared any pics. Cities/communities you might want to look at: Chitre, Boquete, El Valle de Anton (its a former volcanic valley 40 mins from beach) Coronado, Chame, and Bocas del Toro. This is just to show Panama vast variety.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia says:

    Hi Eris. Your Moringa article is very interesting. Didn’t think it was possible to plant this “tree” indoors. Its hard to find this plant in Singapore but we can buy the leaves at “specialty stores”. A holistic doctor actually recommended taking Moringa daily – your idea of starting taking this as part of a smoothie is a brilliant idea! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thanks for the feedback. My moringas used to be in a small balcony but I had to move them indoor next to a floor to ceiling window and they are doing great (We get a wicked windy rain this time of the year). If you manage to get your hands on some seeds, the fresh leaves are easier to incorporate on a regular basis. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

