Plants: An Emotional Thermometer

“Don´t! That hurts the plant.”

How many times haven´t you said this to a little one, yanking on the leaves of a plant?

 

Known as Plant perception or biocommunication it  is the response of plants to sense and react to the environment to adjust their morphology, physiology, and phenotype accordingly.

The first record of this idea was back in 1848, by the German experimental psychologist Gustav Fechner, he suggested plants are capable of emotions and that one can promote a healthy growth by talking to them, providing them attention, a good attitude and affection.

Even when plants lack a nervous system, organs within the plant are sensitive and respond to stimuli.

There is controversial literature out there, of people that state plants just grow not caring about anything just doing what they are supposed to do.

I believe in plant intelligence just as I belive that we are all connected as the tree in Avatar, Eywa, Gaia, Great Spirit, God, the Spider Web of Life , how ever you like to call it.

6a0120a7ae0e08970b0128773c3087970c-500pi

Personally, my plants are my thermometer, I have observed them react to my emotional state.

 

To keep reading on plant perception check out Garden Tunes

2 Comments Add yours

  1. afarawayhome says:

    Very interesting 🙂 I’m not sure if I hurt my plants, but I still feel bad whenever I have to prune them…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As I like to see it, I compare to a haircut.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

